Guest Post: Generations Alike

Recently Millie, the writer of the blog hugmamma’s MIND, BODY and SOUL, was kind enough to write a post for my blog as a guest blogger. To know more about her blog, check here and see her other posts on her blog.
So here is the post :

It amazes me when bloggers decades younger than me find value in what I say. So when I was invited to post to Arnab’s blog, I was somewhat surprised.

Generationally our experiences are so different. I was a product of the 50s and 60s. I was born in the Hawaiian Islands which didn’t become part of the U.S. until 1959. Islanders tend to lead sheltered lives; I was no exception. Arnab, on the other hand, was born in the 80s in India, a country whose population numbers in the millions. He is already totally entrenched in the Internet, where I just got onboard a year ago when I started “hug mamma’s mind, body, and soul,” originally entitled “hug mamma’s attention to detail.”

So how do we bridge the gap between young adults and empty-nesters? We talk about values important to people, no matter their ages. What makes us laugh; what makes us cry. How we face, and overcome, challenges. What motivates us to act; what prevents us from acting. Our thoughts on life, love, and the pursuit of happiness.

We’re just human beings after all, regardless of age, gender, faith, ethnicity, geographical location or political persuasion. We’re born, we live, we die. Our experiences are varied, for sure, but like this post…we all have a beginning…a middle…and an end.

Therefore, we should make the most of the time we have on this earth. For when we’re gone…we’re gone. After that…

…well…that’s for another life…another post………hug mamma.

About Arnab

Blogger, undergrad and a slow learning introvert!!

Posted on August 19, 2011, in Guest Post and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Beautiful Thoughts. We are human, before we are some countrymen. I proudly have a similar tagline of my gravatar on home page:

    Human by Origin. Indian by Birth. Mathematician by Passion. Writter by Choice and WordPresser by Love.

    Not good but just a step forward to Bloggers Unite.

    • Thanks Gaurav, I appreciate you stopping by to read the post.
      And I completely agree with you, we are first and foremost humans.
      If it is not much of trouble, you can go here to thank the writer of this post. It would mean the world to her.
      Stay in touch.
      Arnab.

  2. Thanks for the invite to write, Arnab. I’ll mention this post in my blog to direct readers here. And keep on blogging. You’ve much to contribute…this is your time…

    to make a difference… 🙂

    • Thanks a lot 🙂
      It is words like these that keeps encouraging me. Whether I’ll make a difference or not I don’t know, but I surely will continue blogging.

  1. Pingback: age doesn’t matter… « hugmamma's MIND, BODY and SOUL

Leave a Reply

