Guest Post: Blog Hobbies

Recently Zarina, a blogger was kind enough to write a guest column. Zarina writes her own art blog at Design Clash. To know more about Zarina, check in here.
So here is the post:

Everyone should have a hobby.

Hobbies are great, everyone should have one. I remember when I was younger I had hobbies of collecting things. First it was seashells, then rock and later stamps. I noticed as I got older and busier that I didn’t have any hobbies. I was so wrapped up in work and school that I forgot how it felt to actually do something that I love.

About a year ago, I realized I can’t live life like this. I see my parents after retirement and how they don’t do anything all day, but watch TV, and I realized that I never want to turn out like that (and that’s the reason why I don’t own a TV). Having a regular activity and interest for pleasure is great for the mind, body and soul. It gives you something to talk about with other people and you find out things about yourself that you never knew.

The hobbies I decided to take up were:

  • Photography (especially of all the food I had eaten at restaurants)
  • learning to speak a different language
  • meditating
  • working out
  • crafts
  • cooking
  • and of course blogging

and I already have a new list of hobbies that I need to try, such as:

  • learning to play an instrument
  • tennis
  • knitting
  • traveling and meeting new people

Having a hobby is great way to escape the everyday stress of life. You attain self achievement and feel so proud of yourself. Keeping yourself active outside of work and school is very important and we should all take out some time for ourselves every now and then.

About Arnab

Blogger, undergrad and a slow learning introvert!!

Posted on August 22, 2011, in Guest Post and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I agree with your views on hobbies, it’s nice to have a thing you can do to let out stress et cetera. I would highly recommend learning how to play an instrument, once you’ve learn it and can read music…you never forget it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

